Defense You Can Trust
Firearm Offense Attorney in Miami
The Law Office of Armando J. Hernandez, P.A. Aggressively Fights Weapons Charges
Several of Florida’s gun laws are similar to many other states’; but some are distinct, such as the license requirements. In Florida, you are required to wait a three-day waiting period for handguns to allow sufficient time for required background checks.
If you are facing any firearm charges, you should speak with a knowledgeable firearm offense attorney in Miami to determine your next best steps for moving forward. Schedule your free consultation.
Since 2010, Florida residents no longer need to apply for a license to own a handgun or a shotgun. Nonetheless, Florida is not a right-to-carry state. Carrying a concealed weapon is still illegal in the state if you do not have a specific concealed weapons license.
Florida enforces certain state restrictions on who can own a firearm. Felons, drug addicts, and alcoholics are not permitted to purchase or own firearms in Florida.
Concealed Weapon Laws
In the state of Florida, specific concealed weapons laws enforced. If a resident wants a permit to carry a concealed weapon, they must apply for the permit. This permit is for handguns only. There is no permit which allows shotguns and concealed rifles in the state of Florida.
Residents must apply through the Department of Agriculture, which handles permit applications for concealed weapons. These permits are good for up to eight years. After the eight years expire, they must renew the permit.
Felony Firearms Law
In the state of Florida, there are a number of specific firearms laws concerning felons. Convicted felons do not have the right to possess a firearm, and there are specific laws in regard to the use of firearms in a felony offense. In Florida, the use of a firearm in any felony brings an automatic additional penalty to the crime, adding 20 years or more of incarceration depending on the situation.
In addition, it is illegal to possess firearms in certain locations such as schools, bars, national parks, or restaurants regardless of whether the individual has a permit to legally carry a firearm.
Some examples of cases that Mr. Hernandez takes on are:
- Armed robbery
- Aggravated assault
- Unlawful discharge of a firearm
- Juvenile in possession of a firearm
- Possession of a concealed weapon
- Concealing a loaded gun in a vehicle
- Unlawful sale of a firearm or weapon
- Bringing a deadly weapon into an airport
- Improper exhibition of a firearm or weapon
- Possession of a firearm or weapon by a convicted felon
The following are the penalties for firearm offenses under Florida’s 10-20-Life law:
- Mandatory minimum 20-year prison sentence when the firearm is discharged
- Mandatory minimum 25 years to life in state prison if someone is injured or killed
- Mandatory minimum three-year prison sentence for possession of a firearm by a felon
- Mandatory minimum 10-year sentence for exposing a gun in the commission of a crime
Call Law Office of Armando J. Hernandez, P.A. today at (305) 400-0074 or contact us online to schedule a free consultation with our firearm offense attorney in Miami.
Over 20 Years of Defense Experience
Thousands of Cases Successfully Handled
Free Initial Case Review
Exclusive Focus on Criminal Defense Law
Former State Prosecutor