Put the Experience of a Former State Prosecutor on Your Side

Miami DUI Attorney

What are DUI & DWI in South Florida?

Gavel and alcohol-related DUI charges in Miami FloridaDriving Under the Influence (DUI) or Driving While Intoxicated (DWI) is the criminal offense of operating a motor vehicle while impaired by drugs and/or alcohol or operating a motor vehicle with a blood alcohol content (BAC) of 0.08% or higher.

In Miami, Florida, a DUI is considered a serious criminal offense which can lead to severe legal penalties if the person is convicted.

Can a Lawyer Really Help With DUI?

Yes an experienced criminal defense lawyer really can help with DUI support for your DUI case. DUI or DWI laws can be complicated and change frequently along with convictions.

Should you decide to seek representation for your DUI charges, our Miami DUI attorney will help keep you informed and prepared to beat your court case in Miami, Florida.


Arrested for drunk driving? Contact the Law Office of Armando J. Hernandez, P.A. today for your free consultation from our Miami DUI lawyer.


What Are The Charges for a First Time DUI in Florida?

  • A person with a BAC of 0.08% to less than 0.15% may serve a maximum of 6 months in jail and pay fines from $500 up to $1,000
  • A person with a BAC above 0.15% may serve a maximum of 9 months in jail and pay fines from $1,000 up to $2,000
  • A person convicted of a first time crime may have their license suspended from 180 days to 1 year and may have their vehicle impounded for 10 days
  • A person convicted of a first DUI charge may have to complete DUI school prior to the hardship application
  • A person convicted of a first DUI charge may have to complete 50 hours of community service and pay $10 for each hour required
  • Ignition interlock device – up to six months (hardship reinstatement BAC above 0.15%)

What Are The Charges for a Second DUI in Florida?

  • A person with a BAC of 0.08% to less than 0.15% may serve a maximum of 9 months in jail and pay fines from $1,000 up to $2,000
  • A person with a BAC above 0.15% may serve a maximum of 12 months in jail and pay fines from $2,000 up to $4,000
  • A person convicted of a second DUI charge may face a mandatory 10 days in jail if the second conviction is within 5 years
  • A person convicted of a second DUI charge may have their license suspended for five years if the second conviction is within five years
  • A person convicted of a second DUI charge may have their vehicle impounded for 30 days if the second conviction is within 5 years
  • If a person is convicted of a second drunk driving crime, they will have their license suspended and will be eligible for hardship reinstatement after one year
  • Hardship reinstatement – complete DUI school
  • Ignition interlock device is required for 1 year for BAC from 0.08% to less than 0.15%
  • Ignition interlock device is required for 2 years for BAC above 0.15%

What Are The Charges for a Third DUI in Florida?

  • If a person is convicted of a third DUI charge within 10 years, it is a third-degree felony
  • If a person is convicted of a third DUI charge, they may face up to 12 months in jail
  • If a person is convicted of a third DUI charge, they may face a mandatory 30 days in jail if the third conviction is within 10 years
  • A person with a BAC from 0.08% to less than 0.15% may pay fines from $2,000 up to $5,000
  • A person convicted of a third DUI charge may have their license suspended for 10 years if the third conviction is within 10 years
  • If a person is convicted of a third DUI charge, they will have their license suspended and will be eligible for hardship reinstatement after two years
  • Hardship reinstatement – complete DUI school
  • Ignition interlock device is required for two years
  • A person convicted of a third DUI charge may have their vehicle impounded for 90 days if the third conviction is within 10 years

What Are The Charges for a Fourth DUI in Florida?

  • If a person is convicted of a fourth DUI charge, they may face up to five years in jail
  • If a person is convicted of a fourth DUI charge, they may have their license suspended for life with no hardship reinstatement

DUI with Drug Charges in Miami

DUI drug cases in Miami usually involve chemical tests of your urine and/or blood. Under Florida DUI law, it is illegal for a driver to operate a motor vehicle while their normal abilities are impaired due to a controlled substance.

Many typical prescription and over-the-counter drugs can cause driver impairment and have an effect on the driver’s normal faculties, such as the driver’s ability to talk, walk, and make emergency decisions.

Many people are surprised to learn that prescription drugs or over-the-counter medication can lead to a DUI arrest around Miami, Florida.

The penalties for DUI of drugs are the same as for driving under the influence of alcohol.

A driver may face the following penalties for a first DUI:

  • A fine of up to $500
  • A driver’s license suspension
  • Imprisonment for up to six months

A driver may also face probation and/or a mandatory rehabilitation or drug treatment program set forth by the Miami courthouse.

DHSMV Hearings

In the state of Florida, if a driver is pulled over for DUI and is found to have a BAC of 0.08% or higher or if the driver fails or refuses a breathalyzer test or a blood test, they will have their license suspended at once.

If a driver has been arrested for DUI, they will only have 10 days to schedule an administrative hearing with Florida’s Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (DHSMV).

If they do not schedule this hearing within the 10 days, then their license will be automatically suspended for 1 year.

If a person fails to schedule their hearing with the DHSMV, they will not be able to legally drive for a minimum of six months.

In addition, other DUIs can result in extended periods of license suspension ranging from 5 to 10 years or permanent revocation.

DUI defense lawyer Armando Hernandez can schedule your DHSMV hearing for you and can represent you at your hearing.

As an aggressive and skilled Miami DUI lawyer with a background as a former Miami Dade prosecutor, attorney Hernandez understands the particulars of both sides of the criminal process.

Boating Under the Influence - BUI

Similar to driving under the influence, BUI or boating under the influence is a serious crime. Read more on our BUI page.

If you are facing DUI charges, call Law Office of Armando J. Hernandez, P.A. today at (305) 400-0074 or contact us online to schedule a free consultation with our DUI attorney in Miami, Florida.

What Our Clients Are Saying

Read Recent Reviews About Our Legal Service
  • “Very satisfied!”

    Max
  • “Saved my life and gained a friend for life.”

    Anonymous
  • “Thank you, Armando, for giving my freedom back!!”

    Alex
  • “Happy with his service”

    Jorge
  • “He cares about his client. You can trust him.”

    Hong
  • “I Can Wholeheartedly Recommend Armando and His Staff”

    David Miami, FL
  • “Thank you, Armando. I will refer to you anytime.”

    Ty
  • “This is the best law office ever!”

    Yahima Miami, FL
  • “Great attorney! I recommend Armando 100%.”

    Adhemar
  • “A Great Lawyer! Very sharp and with tons of experience.”

    Anonymous
  • “Best lawyer with the fairest price”

    Kyle
  • “I am so grateful to Mr. Hernandez for the highly professional manner”

    Judy
  • “Outstanding Experience!”

    J.D. Miami, FL
  • “Highly recommended lawyer, and will treat you like a person, not a check.”

    Adrian
  • “Got the case to be dismissed!”

    Anonymous

Reach Out to Us Today

Schedule a Free Initial Case Review
    • Please enter your first name.
    • Please enter your last name.
    • Please enter your email address.
      This isn't a valid email address.
    • This isn't a valid phone number.
    • Please make a selection.
    • Please enter a message.