Defense You Can Trust
Miami Reckless Driving Attorney
Is Reckless Driving a Criminal Offense in Florida?
Reckless driving in Florida carries different criminal penalties depending on whether it is your first offense or a subsequent offense. According to Florida’s reckless driving statue (§316.192), this offense is defined as a person who “drives any vehicle in willful or wanton disregard for the safety of persons or property.”
Contact our Miami reckless driving defense lawyer today for your free consultation.
Speeding alone cannot constitute reckless driving; though speeding in conjunction with other acts, such as running red lights and veering in and out of lanes, may constitute reckless driving.
The various reckless driving offenses and their penalties are as follows:
- For a first offense, a person may face the maximum penalty of 90 days in jail and/or a fine of $25 up to $500.
- For a second or subsequent offense, a person may face the maximum penalty of 6 months in jail and/or a fine of $25 up to $1,000.
- For reckless driving causing property damage (whether it is a first offense or not), a person may face up to 1 year in jail and/or a fine of up to $1,000.
- For reckless driving causing serious bodily injury, a person may face up to 5 years in prison and/or a fine of up to $5,000.
Is Reckless Driving a Misdemeanor or a Felony?
Reckless driving may be classified as a misdemeanor or a felony depending on whether the alleged offender caused any property damage, bodily injury, or death as an outcome of the offense. If you are facing these types of charges, you should contact a skilled Miami reckless driving lawyer right away.
To schedule a free consultation with our reckless driving attorney in Miami, call Law Office of Armando J. Hernandez, P.A. today at (305) 400-0074 or contact us online.
Over 20 Years of Defense Experience
Thousands of Cases Successfully Handled
Free Initial Case Review
Exclusive Focus on Criminal Defense Law
Former State Prosecutor