Skip to Content
Miami's Choice for Criminal Defense 305-400-0074

Under Florida statutes, if you are designated a career offender, you must register as such to local law enforcement. You are required to provide personal identifying information, which becomes a matter of public records. If you fail to comply, you could be charged with a third-degree felony.

What Is a Career Offender?

A career offender is a person who has been convicted of specific offenses either while they were serving a prison sentence or court-ordered supervision. Additionally, they could be designated as such if they were convicted of another crime within 5 years of the prior felony or their release from sanctions such as prison, probation, or supervision. Career criminals are subject to sentencing enhancements.

Florida Statute § 775.261 identifies three types of career offenders that are required to register, which include:

  • Habitual violent felony offenders: These are individuals who have been convicted of committing or attempting to commit the specific felonies, which include, but are not limited to:
    • Arson
    • Sexual battery
    • Robber
    • Kidnapping
    • Aggravated assault with a deadly weapon
    • Murder
    • Aggravated battery
  • Violent Career Criminals: People designated in this classification include those who were previously convicted 3 or more times of crimes including, but not limited to:
  • Three-time violent felony offenders: Individuals in this group include those who were convicted 2 or more times of a committing or attempting to commit a felony offense that includes, but is not limited to:
    • Arson
    • Sexual battery
    • Robbery
    • Kidnapping
    • Murder
    • Armed burglary
    • Aggravated stalking
    • Home invasion
    • Carjacking

Who Must Register as a Career Offender?

If you plan to live in Florida either permanently or temporarily and you are designated a career offender, you must register with local law enforcement. The law does not apply if your conviction has been pardoned. Also, if you are required to register as a sexual offender, you do not have to also submit information as a career offender, unless your legal obligation to register as a sexual offender has expired.

What Are the Registration Requirements?

If you’ve moved to Florida temporarily or permanently, or you have been released from prison or supervision, within 2 business days, you must submit your personal information to the sheriff’s office in the county in which you reside.

The information you must give law enforcement includes your:

  • Name
  • Social Security Number
  • Age
  • Race
  • Gender
  • Date of birth
  • Height
  • Weight
  • Hair color
  • Eye color
  • Residence address
  • Employment information
  • Conviction information
  • Offense details
  • Fingerprints
  • Photograph
  • Any other information the department deems necessary

In addition to registering with law enforcement, you must also secure/renew your driver's license or get an identification card. You must do this with the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles within 2 business days of registering as a career offender.

Law enforcement may provide notice to the community in which you intend to reside that you are a registered career offender.

What Are the Penalties for Failing to Comply?

If you do not register as a career offender as required by Florida Statute § 775.261, you will be charged with a third-degree felony. The sanctions for a conviction include a prison sentence of up to 5 years and/or a fine of up to $5,000.

For Aggressive Defense in Miami, Reach Out to Law Office of Armando J. Hernandez, P.A.

If you were charged with a felony, you could be facing long-term repercussions for a conviction. Allow our attorney to provide the effective counsel you need to fight charges.

For a free consultation, call us at (305) 400-0074 or contact us online.

  • Ni cárcel ni libertad condicional Tráfico de cocaína (2 Kilogramos)
    El sujeto fue acusado de traficar con dos (2) kilogramos de ...
  • Desestimado Robo a mano armada con arma de fuego
    El sujeto fue acusado de robar a dos hombres junto con otro ...
  • Desestimado Agresión agravada con un arma mortífera
    El acusado fue arrestado y acusado de apuñalar a alguien con un ...
  • Absuelto Asalto agravado con un arma mortífera
    El sujeto fue acusado de tratar de atropellar al amante de su ex ...
  • No hay tiempo de cárcel 3er DUl
    El acusado fue arrestado por una tercera ofensa de DUI. ...
  • Desestimado Agresión doméstica por estrangulamiento, detención ilegal, asalto con agravantes y manipulación de testigos.
    El sujeto fue acusado de agarrar a una mujer por el cuello y ...