Immediately after a DUI arrest in Florida, the Florida Department of Highway Safety & Motor Vehicles (DHMSV) will automatically suspend your driver’s license. This suspension period is separate from the suspension issued by the criminal court if you are ultimately convicted of the crime.
However, Florida’s DUI laws changed in 2013 to allow drivers facing first-time drunk or drugged driving charges to obtain a “business purposes only (BPO)” license that allows them to drive to and from work, school, and other important appointments, instead of serving license suspension. You can request this type of license without requesting a DHMSV hearing.
This type of hardship license is also known as a “waiver license” because you waive your right to a DHSMV hearing to contest the suspension. Therefore, waiving this right essentially means admitting guilt and having the suspension on your driving record – even if you were later found not guilty of the DUI charge in criminal court.
As we mentioned before, the BPO license is only available to drivers with no prior DUI convictions. In addition, those who refused to take a post-arrest chemical test are not eligible.
Before you can request a BPO license, you must provide prove of enrollment in DUI school and pay a $25 filing fee. Lastly – and most importantly – you must make a request within 10 days of the day of your arrest.
At the Law Office of Armando J. Hernandez, P.A., our legal team can determine whether you should pursue obtaining a BPO license or challenge your license suspension in a DHSMV hearing. We will thoroughly evaluate your case and figure out which is the best legal option for your case.
Contact us today at (305) 400-0074 for a free initial consultation. Thousands of cases successfully handled in Miami and throughout Florida.