MIAMI FIREARM OFFENSE ATTORNEY

Aggressive South Florida Criminal Defense Lawyer

Several of Florida’s gun laws compare to many other states, but some are distinct, for example the license requirements. In Florida you are required to wait a three day waiting period for handguns to allow sufficient time for required background checks.

Firearm Laws in Florida

License Laws
Since 2010, Florida residents no longer need to apply for a license to own a handgun or a shotgun. Nonetheless, Florida is not a right-to-carry state. Carrying a concealed weapon is still illegal in the state if you do not have a specific concealed weapon license. Florida enforces certain state restrictions on who can own a firearm.  Felons, drug addicts, and alcoholics are not permitted to purchase or own firearms in Florida

Concealed Weapon Laws
In the state of Florida specific concealed weapons laws enforced. If a resident wants a permit to carry a concealed weapon, he/she must apply for the permit. This permit is for handguns only. There is no permit that allows shotguns and concealed rifles in the state of Florida. Residents must apply through the Department of Agriculture, which handles handle permit applications for concealed weapons. These permits are good for up to eight years after the eight years expire he/she must renew the permit.

Felony Firearms Law
In the state of Florida there are a number of specific firearms laws concerning felons. Convicted felons do not have the right to possess a firearm, and there are specific laws in regards to the use of firearms in a felony offense. In Florida, the use of a firearm in any felony brings an automatic additional penalty to the crime, adding 20 years or more of incarceration depending on the situation. In addition it is illegal to possess firearms in certain locations such as schools, bars, national parks, or restaurants regardless of whether the individual has a permit to legally carry a firearm. Some examples of cases that Mr. Hernandez takes on are:

  • Armed Robbery
  • Aggravated Assault
  • Improper exhibition of a firearm or weapon
  • Possession of a firearm or weapon by a convicted felon
  • Unlawful discharge of a firearm
  • Possession of a concealed weapon
  • Bringing a deadly weapon into an airport
  • Unlawful sale of a firearm or weapon
  • Concealing a loaded gun in a vehicle
  • Juvenile in possession of a firearm

The following are the penalties for firearm offenses under Florida’s 10-20-Life law: 

Florida’s 10-20-LIFE Law

  • Mandatory minimum 3 year prison sentence for possession of a firearm by a felon
  • Mandatory minimum 10 year sentence for exposing a gun in the commission of a crime 
  • Mandatory minimum 20 year prison sentence when the firearm is discharged 
  • Mandatory minimum 25 years to LIFE in state prison if someone is injured or killed

Time is of the essence. Even if you have not been formally charged with a crime, attorney Hernandez can intercede and work to protect your rights. Involving an attorney as early in the process as possible is important if you are to have the best opportunity of successfully fighting your charges and avoiding a conviction. Due to the difficulty of the cases and the probable sentences that attach, it is essential that you contact Mr. Hernandez. With his extensive knowledge of the legal system, attorney Hernandez will provide you with the most aggressive and knowledgeable legal representation possible in the face of your firearm offense charges.

For more information and your free consultation contact attorney Armando Hernandez today at 305-442-2590.